Basic Police Academy
The Tri-C® Peace Officer Basic Training (POBT) Academy, also known as the Police Academy, is the first step on your path to a rewarding career as a police officer. Earn college credit while preparing to become a police officer in the state of Ohio.
The spring and fall Police Academies are face-to-face training at the Tri-C Public Safety Training Center. Tri-C adopted safe distancing measures and precautions recommended by health officials. Learn more about the measures we are taking to keep students safe.
- Full-time day (24-week) or part-time evening (36-week) academies available
- Offered at Tri-C’s Western Campus
- More than 700 contact hours
- Lectures, hands-on training, scenario-based and group participation
- Prepares you for the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission (OPOTC) exam
- Additional advanced training certifications available
- State-of-the-art law enforcement training facility includes onsite range
- Financial aid available to eligible students
- 24 credit hours can be applied toward an Associate of Applied Science degree in Criminal Justice with concentration in Basic Police Academy
- High school diploma or GED
- 18 years or older at time of acceptance (21 years recommended)*
- Mandatory attendance for duration of the academy (per OPOTC regulation). Missed classes must be made up within 14 days at the discretion of the commander.
- U.S. citizen
- Valid Ohio driver’s license with full driving privileges
- In good health as documented by physical exam signed by a licensed physician
- Successfully pass a nine-panel drug screen and background check
- Successfully pass Physical Fitness Assessment (PFA)
- No criminal history**
*There is no age requirement; however, potential cadets should understand the unlikelihood of being hired/sworn (offered a commission) with a police department until 21 years of age or older. The College also requires that all firearms be transported to and from the range by someone of at least 21 years of age. The following OPOTC standards are in place and apply to all graduates of the Police Academy, regardless of age:
- The individual has one year after taking and passing the OPOTC State Certification Exam (SCE) to obtain a commission without having to take any further classes.
- If hired after the one-year anniversary of passing the SCE, the individual must have enough time to finish any new OPOTC requirements before the second year anniversary date of the SCE. If the deadline is not met, the individual must repeat the entire OPOTC Basic Police Academy.
- If any individual does not receive a commission by the second year anniversary of having passed the SCE, they must successfully repeat the entire OPOTC Basic Police Academy.
** Any felony conviction (including any arrests or convictions expunged or sealed by the court) and certain misdemeanor convictions (including domestic violence and drug possession) may prohibit you from entering the academy. In addition, any crime reduction or plea agreement/bargain in which the original charge was domestic violence will prohibit you from entering the academy. A full list of disqualifiers can be found in the Ohio Administration Code section 109:2-1-03.
Tuition and Fees
- Cuyahoga County residents: $5,755*
- Out-of-county residents: $6,483.96*
- Cost of 24 academic credit hours (based on residency) plus, academy noncredit fee
- Blackboard access to OPOTC (Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission) classroom materials and handouts
- Standard American Heart Association or Red Cross First Aid/CPR certification
- Uniform components
- Optional use of duty gear and firearms. Cadets wishing to purchase their own firearm must purchase a 9mm Glock, Model 17 or 19. Personal handguns and ammunition must be inspected and approved by range master. Firearms should not be purchased until instructed by academy staff.
- Cost for one (1) attempt to pass State Certification Exam (second attempt, if needed is $95)
Additional fees not covered in above costs:
- Non-refundable Physical Fitness Assessment Fee** (due at time of assessment): $25
- Technology fee for full-time students (two semesters): $140
- Pre-entrance drug screen (paid directly to screen agency): $40
- Pre-entrance physical exam (paid directly to medical provider): Cost varies
- Required uniform pants: Approximately $25 per pair
- Ammunition for handgun and shotgun: Approximately $345
*Tuition or fees subject to change without notice.
**Keep in mind that a Physical Agility test taken at Tri-C does NOT meet the Physical Fitness Assessment requirement.
You must complete all the following actions to be accepted into the Basic Police Academy. There is no specific order that the following actions must be completed. We encourage applicants to work on all actions simultaneously. View all details in the application process.
The application process will be available online on Oct. 25, 2021.
The deadline to complete the application process (including the PFA) and turn in all paperwork for the next academy is on or by 3 p.m. on Jan. 19, 2022.
You must make an appointment to turn in your complete application packet. Do not make an appointment until all requirements are completed, including passing the physical fitness assessment.
- Complete Online Police Academy Application
- Become Current Tri-C Student
- Complete Placement Testing
- Secure Method of Payment
- Complete Pre-Screenings: Physical Exam, Drug Screen and Background Check
- Complete Physical Fitness Assessment and Pay Application Fee
- Verify DD214 (Veteran Applicants Only)
- Request Driving Record from BMV
- Complete Release of Information Form
- Complete Student Disclosures Form
- Schedule Time to Drop Off Forms
Related Programs or Classes
Tri-C offers an Associate of Applied Science degree in Criminal Justice with a concentration in Basic Police Academy. For more information on the associate degree program, contact firstname.lastname@example.org or call 216-987-5113.
Be sure to use Tri-C School Code: 003040 and Criminal Justice/Police Academy Major Code: S606 or S608.