









Celebrating Our Past

**Embracing Our Future** 

# CONVOCATION

Wednesday, May 18 9 a.m. Metropolitan Campus or Virtual









## Welcome to the Spring 2022 Convocation.

It is with great excitement that we welcome our faculty to our first hybrid Spring 2022 Convocation. These past two years have been a time of constant change, unpredictability and uncertainty for our faculty, staff, students and community. Our Tri-C family supported each other in responding to this changed environment, while rising to meet the challenges created during COVID, through dedication, innovation and professionalism.

This year's Convocation is focused on Celebrating Our Past while Embracing Our Future, and we as a College have much to celebrate and look forward to over the coming years. Each one of you is a part of the legacy of Tri-C which, for more than 59 years, has been providing high quality, accessible, inclusive and affordable educational opportunities to over 900,000 residents of Northeast Ohio. Your commitment to students, especially during COVID, is unparalleled and we deeply appreciate your contributions to our mission and your community.

We also take this time to look forward to new challenges, successes and ways we can continue to support all students in our community, helping every student achieve their educational and career goals. With our foundational principles of access, equity and success, we can confidently look forward to continuing to open doors, remove barriers, provide support and create opportunities for students to succeed at Tri-C and beyond graduation.

Together, our Tri-C community will continue to make this institution a place where futures truly can begin for generations of students to come.

Sincerely,

Alex Johnson *President* 

Karen Miller

Provost and Executive Vice President, Access, Learning and Success

Michael Boyko

Professor, Criminal Justice and President, American Association of University Professors (AAUP), Cuyahoga Community College Chapter

Robert Johnson

Professor, Counseling and Chair, Joint Faculty Senate Council

# Agenda

#### 9-10:30 a.m. Morning Program (Hybrid)

In person at Metropolitan Campus Auditorium or CLICK HERE to join virtually.

#### Welcome

**Denise McCory** 

Metropolitan Campus President

#### **Provost Remarks**

Karen Miller

Provost and Executive Vice President, Access, Learning and Success

#### **Learning Management System (LMS) Review Update**

George Kanieski

Assistant Professor, English

Tom Kemp

Executive Director, Online Learning and Academic Technology

Delia (Dee Dee) Pfister

Associate Vice President, Academic Professional Development, Online Learning and Academic Technology, Articulation and Transfer

#### **AAUP & JFSC Remarks**

Michael Boyko

Professor, Criminal Justice

President, American Association of University Professors (AAUP) Tri-C Chapter

Robert Johnson

Professor, Counseling; Chairperson, Joint Faculty Senate Council (JFSC)

#### **A Conversation With Dr. Johnson**

Alex Johnson

College President

**Edward Foley** 

Professor, Business Administration; Faculty Co-Moderator

**Andrew Pegman** 

Professor, English; Faculty Co-moderator

#### 10:45 a.m. – noon Brunch With Dr. Johnson (In Person)

Metropolitan Campus Center, Ground Floor Food Court

Join Dr. Johnson for a farewell brunch in his honor. Take a moment to give him your best wishes, and be sure to sign his digital farewell card.

#### 1-2:30 p.m. Adjunct Engagement Session (Hybrid)

Metropolitan Campus Center, room 201 or CLICK HERE to join virtually

In this fun and informative session, Adjunct Services managers will provide updates on current initiatives and celebrate the role adjunct faculty have played in supporting that work. Join us!

#### 1:30-3 p.m. Full-time Faculty Counterparts Meetings (Virtual)

Check your email for the meeting link from your faculty counterpart chair.

#### 1:30-3 p.m. Full-time Faculty Drop-in Help Session with Curriculum, Assessment and

**Transfer (Virtual)** 

**CLICK HERE** to get answers to your Ohio Transfer and curriculum questions.

#### 3:30-4:30 p.m. Full-time Faculty JFSC/AAUP Meeting (Virtual)

Check your email for the meeting link (full-time contractual faculty only).

# College Administration

### **BOARD OF TRUSTEES**

Helen Forbes Fields, Chair Ann M. Frangos, Vice Chair J. David Heller The Rev. Cory C. Jenkins Phoebe Lee Geralyn M. Presti Andrew E. Randall Victor A. Ruiz Ted Tywang

## PRESIDENT'S CABINET

Alex Johnson President

William H. Gary Sr.
Executive Vice President
Workforce, Community and
Economic Development Division

David Kuntz
Executive Vice President/Treasurer
Administration and Finance

Karen Miller Provost and Executive Vice President Access, Learning and Success

Todd Kitchen
President, Eastern Campus

Denise McCory

President, Metropolitan Campus

Janice Taylor Heard
Interim President, Westshore Campus

Lisa Williams
President, Western Campus

Jenny Febbo Vice President, Integrated Communications

> Ronna McNair Chief of Staff/Executive Assistant to the President

Megan O'Bryan Vice President, Development and President, Tri-C Foundation Claire Rosacco Vice President, Government Affairs and Community Outreach

Renee Tramble Richard Vice President, Legal Services

## **SPRING 2022 CONVOCATION COMMITTEE**

Paul Abiola
Peter Anderson
Shannon Brown
Rebecca Carte
Casey Clark
Karen Cross-Hatten
Kara DePaul
Adam Dilulio

Kevin Dwyer Ralonda Ellis-Hill David Haiduc Brian Hall Christine Hickey
Todd Kitchen
Adrienne McCarthy
Denise McCory
Lisanetta McDade
Sandra McKnight
Ronna McNair
Elisa Meadows
Jessica Noeth
Amy Parks
Zohreh Parsian

Aimee Pearce

Delia Pfister
Andrew Powell
Caroline Rado
Pamela Regrut
Lisa Schneider
Charles Smith
Stacey Souther
Standish Stewart
Leanne van Beers-Werneke
Terrii Wachala
Benjamin Wilson